Adventures in green tech: How I hitchhiked my way to Retool and befriended AI in the quest for Sustainability

Long post
Sorry. This is a long showcase.

It will cover:

• AI Vectors
  • AI sentiment analysis
  • AI text generation

Experience
I should start by saying that I didn’t know what retool was little over a year ago. I’m not a software developer, and I’ve never been a software developer. I run a sustainability agency. And I like making systems /processes that make our life easier. I have been helped largely by the Retool Community, ChatGPT and the occasional help from a developer found on UpWork.

Then with the new built-in features of interacting with (Open)AI – I wanted to try out an idea. Which we have been developing and playing with ever since.

Context
There’s a concept in sustainability reporting called Materiality. The idea that what is important to one company may not be important to another – and vice-versa. I.e. Health & safety might be material to an Oil company such as BP or Exxon, however not as material to an office based company – such as Retool or Cisco. However stress and workplace wellbeing might be, and subsequently might not be material to an oil company.. you get the gist.

Companies must (regulation dictates this now) perform a materiality assessment to determine what is material to them. This is what we do for companies. Based on the result usually dictates what they must report.

Traditionally, this involves a lot of research in its first phase – to get a long list of topics (which is shortlisted later by the companies stakeholders). But, as sustainability rises up the agenda of companies, and regulation is tightening (especially in Europe) – more companies must do this. So we have been developing an app to help us perform this research, with the help of Retool and AI - to make it quicker.

Solution