Show/Hide a component on button click

Hi I'm very new to retool and I wanted to know how to show/hide a component or any component on button click? I saw a ojbectname.hidden and I don't know how to manipulate the value to true/false of this in script area on the bottom resource run js codes cript

If you really need a button you'll need to record state somewhere as you can't control visibility with event handlers. So, if you really, really need a button I would have the button toggle a variable in localStorage.

Ideally I would use a switch to do that, would that work for you?

1 Like

Hey yobz, happy to help you out with this :smiley: and this is also covered in the layout section of our docs if you need further clarification. You can dynamically program the hidden property of a component by clicking on the component, opening the inspector panel (on the right), and scrolling down to the layout section.

The 'hidden' input field accepts any input that evaluates to a boolean and the component will be hidden based on the value of that boolean. Depending on your use case, you could program a component to be hidden based on the state of your app, the state of another components, on a variable in localStorage (as minijohn suggests), on a temporary state variable, or after some action occurs in your app.

If you just want a button that you can click to toggle the component visible/hidden, minijohns suggestion is a good one and here is what that could look like:

Alternatively you could use a temporary state variable. Here is what that would look like:

Either way you could have a button that triggers a JS query which toggles the state in the localStorage or in the temporary state variable.

Do you think this could work for your use case here?

2 Likes

@minijohn, @everett_smith wow guys impressive ideas on how this thing works thank you!

Btw I'm trying to understand things with modules since it does a lot of help building a page quicker.