I need to delete a user to fix an Okta conflict

Current plan level: Enterprise
Monthly/Annual (if Team or Business): Not sure
Version of Retool (if self-hosted): Self-hosted in AWS, 3.33.26

Question / Description:

Hi so I have a user that doesn't have the app assigned in okta and the error seen in okta is:


Automatic provisioning of user :redacted: to app Retool failed: Error while creating user :redacted:: Conflict. Errors reported by remote server: User with that email already exists

I've been told by the Okta admins to delete the user from the app and let Okta assign the user automatically.

So how do I do that?

Hello there!
You can disable a user by going to your Retool domain, then go into Settings > Users and when seeing the list of users, click on the user you want to disable. You'll see a red text at the bottom of the popup that says "Disable user".
If you have any more questions, please let us know!
Also, don't forget to mark this reply as the answer if it's what you needed :slight_smile:
image

thanks but I was told to delete the user so that okta can reassign it automatically.

I've disabled the user but that hasn't made any difference.

Could anyone from the retool team have a look at this, please?

hi @vin,
Unfortunately the only way to properly DELETE a user is by going into your main Retool database that holds all your instance information and running a query to delete them.

Run SELECT * FROM users query, then run a DELETE FROM users WHERE id ={what you found in previous query} . Ensure to have a backup of your DB before doing any DB surgery.

(There is currently a feature ticket to add the ability to delete a user from the UI)

Hope this helps.

1 Like

How to access that specific users table? --

I also need to delete a user as while testing we added a couple that have other retool accounts and everytime they try to login it conflicts with their organization. It's minor, but fairly annoying and inconvenient.

So I also need to delete a user from an org.

@the_irav,
Are you self-hosted or on Retool Cloud?

Cloud :slight_smile:

Ah, I see, @the_irav. Sorry, but Cloud customers do not have access to the Retool main storage DB. You will have to access that info via the Retool API. You can read about how to access the Retool API here.

1 Like

I'll have a look - thank you for pointing me towards that. Haven't fully explored the API yet so will have to do some reading.

A bit late in Australia at the moment (2:30 am) so I think I'll leave it for tomorrow :innocent:

okay! let me know how it goes! good night!

Just tried a simple request but got denied -- Is the API only accessible for enterprise? -
Does this mean I can't delete the user at all unless I fork out some benjamins? :hushed:

@the_irav,
Sorry, yes, the API is only available to Enterprise customers. You can disable a user, but not delete them. There is a feature request right to our engineering team to give the ability to actually DELETE users rather than just disable them in the UI.

1 Like

Hi @lindakwoo,

I just wanted to check whether there are any updates on this. I'm also looking for a way to fully delete users in Retool. Via the API (Enterprise version), it seems I can only deactivate them, and in the UI I can likewise only find the option to deactivate. We're self-hosted – would the only way be to go directly through the Retool main storage DB?

Thanks in advance for your reply. Best regards

Hi @Sandra! Welcome to the Community forum :sparkles: !

Unfortunately, there hasn't been an update on this feature request yet :frowning: . I'll be sure to let you know once we get an update!

Since you're self-hosted and on the Enterprise plan, you have two paths: via the UI or API (does not fully delete user; can only disable), and via querying the database (can delete user).

You would need to run a query on your main Retool DB that holds all your instance info. Were you able to try the following:

I would also recommend backing up your DB before deleting, or testing this on a staging clone if you have one just in case!

Finally, if you are getting error messages such as the original User with that email already exists error, it may be easier to change the user's email to something else and then disabling the account, as an alternative way to full deletion.

Hope this helps!

-Jen