Retool Public App - Error "Authentication Failed – Missing User Token”

Hi,

I am using a public app embedded into salesforce which utilises the new retool storage option.

I am getting the following error when people try to use the tool's upload feature - Authentication Failed – Missing User Token”.

Any ideas how I bypass the authentication error? all they are doing is uploading a simple excel, seems highly excessive if I need to make them all users to just use this feature in a public app?

Thanks

1 Like

I agree. Seems, for now, to use the Retool storage feature, users need to have a Retool account and be logged in.

I also find this requirement to be excessive, and I wonder if Retool is pushing us to use more "Retool Users" in order to increase their revenue. See also Retool to end support for creating password-protected Public Apps

I'm genially worried.

Patrick

2 Likes

Hi! I'm an engineer on Retool storage. We currently don't yet support using Retool storage from components in public apps but do allow running storage queries in public apps. As a workaround, you can very well create a Retool storage upload query and wire it up with the uploader component to upload files in a public app. We're actively working on component support in public apps and expect it to be out in 2 weeks. Sorry for the inconvenience here.

2 Likes

Hello @himanshu,

Thank you for your great work on Retool Storage, and thank you for your reply. Appreciated!

Looking forward to testing Retool Storage on a public app!

:grinning:

Patrick

1 Like

Can you elaborate how to implement the work around, do we need to set the Retool storage as a addition resource and not using the present Retool storage resource already available?
Thanks

We've rolled out public app support for Retool Storage in components (except table image support) as of yesterday, so unless you're using it for the table viewer component - you should be able to view this. We should have table support by next week.