Link QR's to DB content

Hey all,

Newbie here. Just playing with Retool and RetoolDB

Are there any resources on how I would link a QR to an item in a Database?

I want users to scan a QR and see information.

Do I need to auto generate QR inside Retool or do I upload my own?

Thanks

Hello, welcome,

What do you specifically want to do? Do you want (retool licenses) users to scan a QR with a retool application? Or do you want any person to be able to scan a QR code from for example the camera app on their mobile?
Do you generate the QR codes yourself so you can decide yourself what info in embedded in the QR?

It is definitely possible to lookup information from a (retool) database. How to achieve this depends a bit on what you want to achieve.

I am for example using QR codes on our logistic documents. When scanning the QR code, I lookup the contents of the pallet from a database.

Thanks for the reply.

I currently have QR codes that load web pages with inventory details.

I'd like to bring this all into an app.

So users download the app (free no login/reg) scans a QR to see the details pulled from a Retool database within the app.

So like you, they use the app, open the scanner (camera)within the app then scan the QR and it looks up the content from the DB.

It's possible to reference URL params from your Retool app (docs here!) with that, you could create a QR code for a URL that has params indicating which record needs to be fetched from your DB and then display information about that record in your Retool app. If you'd like for users to be able to access this without authentication you can explore doing so using a public app. Does that seem like it might work?

good to know that this is possible. Was also thinking about a public app, but didn't know how to automatically fetch data.