How to code on trigger

Hi:

I started using Retool last week to build a mobile app for my company. I have all the screens into place and is filtering the data by screen, that works great and it was super quick. Where I have issues is the following.

They scan a label using the barcode component. After that the following needs to happen:

1. Check the label exists
  2. Check the label belongs to the current "drop" they are doing
  3. Check if the label is part of a pallet

Once all of the above happen. I need to update the table where the label belongs too setting the fields unload=1, driver=currentdriver, delivered at=getDate(). If it belongs to a pallet it will do the same but lookup the pallet number and update the same information in that table.

I've gone through the documentation and tested a few things like creating a javascript query, but nothing. I do SQL development for a living so that's not an issue. Javascript I don't know because I've always worked in Visual Basic. But the logic I presented it exists now in our tablets and it works great. If someone could lead me into the right direction I'll appreciate it.

Andres

Hi @adominicci -- welcome to Retool!

It sounds like you are trying to trigger a series of queries once a barcode is scanned. If you have the queries already build to facilitate steps 1-3 that you listed the triggering process would look something like:

1. User scans barcode -- the barcode component should have an event handler that you setup to trigger the next step (checking if the label exists).
  2. Check label exists query is triggered -- setup the success and failure handlers in this query to trigger the next step or to do something if the query fails... this should be how you trigger the follow-up queries as well.
  3. If everything has succeeded the way you want the last step should trigger your table update query.