Manipulating uploaded Excel data

Hi, I am new to Retool and want to provide a way for users to upload Excel with data which has to be then stored in the DB. I am quite happy to see that you have parsed value directly available. Here are some challenges I might face:

1. The data does not always start at row 0 - some rows have to be ignored.
  2. The Excel sheet is typically a dump from ERP which contains 50+ columns and we are interested in only a few columns - how do I customize the parse function to pick only a few columns?
  3. sometimes, I might want to run some validation on the Excel and give error message to user - for example, if they submit a file with a wrong set of columns. How do I handle errors in the process?
  4. sometimes, I want to filter out certain rows and upload the rest to the DB. I see that the workflow is available to do the ETL/data manipulation. But can I pair it with the file upload tool?
  5. Does the file uploader support XLSB files which offer better compression for large file size, as the input files are quite large?
  6. If the user is uploading the same file again, I want a way to let him know that - how do I do that?

So far, we have been doing this in Python/Pandas and we were thinking of using Streamlit. But Retools looks like a great productivity booster for us. So, trying it out - i have done a google search and tried to read what I could find, but could not find enough guidance. So, asking help here - so, any pointers would be appreciated.

Hey @Siraj_Samsudeen!

Retool apps don't support Python outside of Workflows at the moment, though it's something that has been requested before and is on the dev team's radar. You can send your data to a Workflow from your app for further manipulation but that might add too much overhead since you're working with large files. For now, if it's comfortable for you, the best way might be to add additional parsing logic using JavaScript.