Sending a file in a multipart/form-data

Hello.

I'm trying to figure out how to simply send a file to my API endpoint using the Body Form Data with a key of file and type of File with the value of {{ fileInput1.files[0] }}. The object contains the following data:

{"name":"myFile.xlsx","size":14675,"lastModified":1683222753637,"type":"application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.spreadsheetml.sheet"}

My API is expecting this file and will perform actions on the file and return a csv file (that I'm sure will be the next challenge in Retool but baby steps first :slight_smile: )

As I understand it the browser should be handling this as a multipart/form-data and using this file to include in the HTTP request. Granted I'm new to this but I constructed all of this in Postman and it worked just fine. Now all I'm trying to do is simply get a quick interface up so a user can upload a file using the fileInput1 component and submit the request to get a file back. My API is expecting a xlsx file. I see that I can send Base64 but this will require a re-write of my code to accept and this is supposed to be an easier way :slight_smile:

I've searched the forums but I can't find a particular use case simlar to mine. All of them seem to use Base64 binary and I do not want to do this for the reasons above.

Can anyone provide guidance on this? Is this not a feature in retool and the binary is a workaround?

Thanks in advance!

Hey @turn10garage! Happy to help with this.

Would you mind sharing a screenshot of what you currently have in Retool and what's currently working for you in Postman (as much detail here would be great, e.g. specific headers you're passing along)? Theoretically, anything that works in Postman should also work in Retool :slight_smile:

Hi @victoria you're the best :slight_smile:

The component I'm using is fileinput. Very simple and I didn't adjust any of the parameters.

Super simple (which is probably why it isn't working :wink:

Here is my postman: