Running a query on an Array

Trying to run a REST API query on an array. I followed and tried to adapt what the article below stated, but it seems like the query is passing the Object not the value. I'm not sure how to correct that. The only difference being that I pulled the information into the table from another SQL query and didn't just paste in the data. Also the URL for the query is in the middle instead of the end of the URL like in the article so couldn't place put in URL parameters.

Capture

Any help would be great! Warning, I'm new to this so baby steps would be appreciated.

https://docs.retool.com/docs/scripting-retool#section-triggering-a-query-for-each-item-in-an-array

Hi @evanhouten ! You're in the right place for documentation if you're trying to run a query for each item in an array! If you scroll down a little bit on that page you'll see a JavaScript section for triggering a querying for each item in an array which is a little different from the screenshot you posted.

Looking at your errors, it seems like you're passing in an entire object into your REST API query URL, which the query doesn't like, and throwing you those errors, but we can fix that! You'll just need to specify a key within your object.

For example:

If your object looks like this:

myObject = {
  name: "bob",
  job_title: "builder"
}

Then you'll want to key into that object and pull whichever data you're trying to populate the URL with. If you're trying to use 'name' from the object example, here's what it would looks like:

api/v1/devices/{{myObject.data.name}}/switch/ports.

and here's what it should evaluate to:

api/v1/devices/bob/switch/ports.

and here's what that may look like in your app:

Hope this helps! :slightly_smiling_face:

Where would I define the object? In the script or in the query itself?