Populating list data in dropdown from JS

Hi all, I'm quite new to ReTool. And pretty new to JS as well, so I have probably bitten of a little more than I can chew again. . . . Seems to be my thing.

I'm working out what i'm needed to get done for my client though. However am now snagged here, which would seem to be a very simple thing.

I'm trying to populate a dropdown based on data that is changing so not hard coded in through "inspector: values"

Is there a way to populate it through JS from an array? dropdown.setValue seems to set the selected value and not the list of values. The property dropdown.values seems to list values in the dropdown as an array but it seems to only be possible to read from .values and not write to it. I have looked and searched for other options and properties but don't seem to be making progress.

Another approach I could take would be to have the dropdown populated with a column of data within a table. But again i'm not quite sure how to go about this.

Any input would be hugely appreciated.

Looking forward to hearing back. Many thanks in advance.

Hi @tristanNebe

Welcome to the community!

I think what you are getting at can be done pretty simply - just use a set of curly brackets to reference an array of data you are looking to populate the dropdown menu instead of hard coding it in. Here is an example if you had a transformer that returned an array. (note the curly brackets in the right panel.

If you want to reference a table you can do this with a map. (note the {{query1.data.map(d=>d.Title)}} in values & display values. The formula for this is {{ queryname.data.map(d=>d.columnnameyouarelookingtomap)}}

Hope this is what you are looking for!

Hi @JoeyKarczewski,

Thanks so much for your reply! I really appreciate it!

I did manage to get {{ queryname.data.map(d=>d.columnnameyouarelookingtomap)}} to work for the one dropdown so that is working great.