Set dropdown menu based on query result

Hi, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to Retool and Javascript so I'm in a little deep here.

I've managed to create a small application that has a query based on the users input. It then accesses an API and pulls the data I need.

I then want to create a form (made from drop down menus) that is filled out based on the data query - the user then will be able to confirm the information is correct and if not change it to the correct option.

I don't know:

a) how to set up a drop down menu to have a variable default value

b) How to link the collected data to a key as there are a lot of variables that will point to the same drop down menu for example 1a,1b,1c,1d = Green, 2a,2b,2c,2d = Red, 3a,3b,3c,3d = Blue... Would this be something along the lines of creating a Key Index?

Thanks in advance for any help - not really been sure what to google with this problem.

1 Like

Welcome.

For point a, you can set a default value in the select component. Just set that default based on a query, or as in the case of this screenshot based on what is selected in a table.

Here is a working example application you can import:
dropdownBasedOnQuery.json (16.8 KB)

As for point b, I'm not sure I follow. It would be helpful if you could elaborate a bit more on how your data is structured.

Thanks for your help in regards to point 1, I suppose making a table of potential answers for the drop down helps this rather than manually inputting them.

Screenshot 2022-12-11 at 01.41.25

This is the data I am collecting when a user runs a query.

I would then like to run this data into a form with drop down menus for confirmation, however there are multiple options within the data for what can be one drop down menu for us to collect instead. For example there are over 30 different entries for saying Loft insulation where I need about 4 options being : Limited Insulation, No Insulation, Full Insulation and another property above.