New to Retool - Some basic examples

Hello.

I am very new to Retool and would like to create a basic app with following functionality.

I have a Database called "database" within I have a number of data type but am only focused on 2 currently. These are ID, Description.

For the app, I would like a to be able to lookup a single ID and have the Description data display in a panel. The content of the Description tends to be long in nature.

Thats it!

Hey @MarkAC007

Here are the steps you need to create your app:
1- create a resource: from the home page navigate to resources and click on create new

2- from there choose the type of your database (PostgreSQL example) and fill in the required information for it:

3- Navigate back to the home page and click on create new and choose app

4- If this is your first app you will be prompted with a small 5 minutes tutorial that will help you create an app very similar to what you're trying to build now. I highly advise that you follow that tutorial as it will introduce you to the UI

5- from the bottom panel you can click on the + sign and create a new resource query.

6- choose the resource you just created from the resources tab. if you did it all correctly you should see the schema for you DB pop up on the right

7- type the following SQL code (This is just an example based on what you specified in the question)

SELECT 
 id, 
 description
From
 database

8- save and run the query and check the results

9- from the right panel drag a table to your canvas:

10- click on the table to highlight it and click on inspect in the right panel

11- Delete the default data in the data section and replace it with {{query1.data}}

12- by now you should see the results on your query in the table.

13- drag a text input component from the right panel to your canvas

14- go to query1 in the bottom panel and add a where clause to it to filter on the id