Invoking a series of REST-api calls, collecting data from them to make a final REST-api call

I need to invoke 2 REST-api calls, extract returned information and then use that in the 3rd API call.

I searched through the forums and found that in order to do this -- the approach being recommended is to write a javascript snippet. I am a programming newbie (have done lots of coding in C).

In order to ensure that I was running things correctly; I first created the 3rd query using the web-retools-interface and ran it with dummy parameters. It worked but I had to configure "Content-Type" of application/json in headers and body-type of JSON (it does not work without that).

In order to see if I was scripting things correctly -- I wrote the following snippet and connected it to the form1=>submit button as a javascript query called form1SubmitHandler.

var p0=textInput4.value
var p1=textInput5.setValue
var p2=textInput6.value
var p3=textInput7.value
var p4=textInput8.value
var p5=date1.value
query15.trigger({
additionalScope:{p0:p0, p1:p1, p2:p2, ;3:p3, p4:p4,p5:p5}
});
var savedval=data[0].xxxxx

Next I filled unique values for the various text-input fields and clicked "submit".
Both form1SubmitHandler and query15 run silently but produce NO output. Query15 should have produced an output showing the output of the REST api -- it produces nothing.

Can someone point me to a example showing multiple REST-api calls being made and how values returned by the 1st call are used in subsequent calls? I have searched for this and found nothing.

Workflows would be a good option here.
They can have multiple steps, and I find organising the logic for nested/dependent calls like this much easier to reason about in a workflow. You can trigger a workflow from your app, and use its response in other components.

.trigger() returns a promise. if you have code after calling it that depends on the response don't forget to use await

const response = await query15.trigger({