How to loop through an array and hit an API for each value in a column

Hi all!
Newbie here. I'm stuck with something and hope I can get help here. I'm trying to accomplish something similar to this but don't know javascript well and I'm out of my prep :pleading_face:

I have a table with a list of names and phone numbers connected to a gsheet with a button that triggers a Twilio Studio via API (each individual flow has its own rest API url, like: https://studio.twilio.com/v2/Flows/FW2658246db3afe355f0dbaf6acf8660d1/Executions) . I need the button to behave in such a way that takes the array of phone numbers and triggers the Twilio Studio API one by one, basically a loop.

I used Integromat to do a prototype just to create this iteration of numbers in the array, but I think this functionality is possible directly in Retool with scripting, if I only knew how to code it.

Here's a screenshot of my beautiful dashboard

Thanks for any help!

1 Like

Hey @Veronica :slight_smile:

So the general format for this would look something like the below. Since the table is backed by a GSheets query, we’d just iterate through the query’s data directly instead of adding another layer of abstraction via the table.

query1.data.forEach(row => query2.trigger(data))

The specifics depend on what that flow trigger looks like. Does each row in the table have to trigger a separate endpoint? Or send all the data at once?

Hi @Justin - thanks! To answer your question, each row in the table triggers the same endpoint (the Twilio flow), but they need to be processed one by one as Twilio only wants one number to text.
The second “tab” in my table is associate do a different Gsheet, which in turn is associated to a different Twilio flow, with its own endpoint. But all the numbers in the query need to trigger that endpoint, one by one, like the first one. Hope I made it clear!