Help :Table Search

Hello everyone,

I am new to Retool, and want to build some thing with the search function.
Suppose i have 1 column with Name, Address & Phone number. (ex. Rick, 23654, 22nd street, Melo, 1st street, 3344 etc.)
In the search function, if i type in search bar: Melo 23654 22
The table should be populated with the values that i have typed in the searched bar.

How can i achieve this? Any help will be greatly appreciated. TIA!

hello, welcome to the community

The table has a built-in search and using a fuzzy match should be close to what you need:
Create a text input box for users to enter their search term and the table should filter based on values or labels that match

Hello, i know this function and have implemented. But the search i need is with space seperated strings.

Thanks for explaining more - I think I'd like to know what the expected use case is here before jumping into answers. Searching on a compound field can be very challenging but it is possible.

I'm assuming that the search is used to find an individual record using any combination of name/address/phone?

• Do you have to match all the fields to find a record or would a search for "Melo 12345" also return 7 - Melo? ie you have a matching name but the wrong address or phone number.
  • What should happen if 12345 is a valid address for someone else (not Melo), do we want to see both records or just one?
  • Is the user required to enter a full name to match against or are partial searches allowed? ie what if they type in "street" - that would be 2 matches
  • Is the user required to enter search terms in a specific order or can it be name + phone or phone + name or name + street

Separating the input value into words using space as a separator is easy enough but if they entered "22nd street" how would we know that's an address and not to separate on the space.