Displaying an image from S3

Hi,

I'm new to retool and struggling with a seemingly simple task: displaying an image (JPG/PNG) fetched from S3.

Using the "Read a file from S3" action in my S3 resource, I can get the image file. However, the data is marked as binary (Content-Type is "binary/octet-stream") but it looks like it has already been converted into a string ("data.Body" is a string).

How do I decode that string back into a binary? I suppose I would have to know how it was encoded in the first place. My idea was to convert the image to base64 and then feed it to the built-in Image component for display.

Thanks!

I just wanted to add that selecting "Download file from S3" returns what I'm looking for (the image, encoded in base64). However, this is not in the "data" property accessible from Retool. Screenshot from Chrome dev tools:

Hey @ftruzzi and welcome to the community! This is weird, I'm not able to repro locally. Reading an image file from my S3 bucket correctly returns Base64, and I'm able to render it in an image component. I think this might be an issue with how your bucket is configured.

1 Like

Hi @justin and thank you very much for taking the time to test this.

I noticed a different ContentType in your screenshot and I investigated a little bit more. This turned out to be a boto3 issue (the library I’m using to upload files) in which the content type defaults to binary/octet-stream: https://github.com/boto/boto3/issues/548

Manually specifying the content type as described in the above issue fixed it. Not sure why the “Download file from S3” action works anyway though, you might want to take a look at that.

Thanks!

1 Like

@justin unfortunately this issue also happens when uploading a file to S3 using the “Upload data” action from the s3 resource (Only binary content type is selectable)