Building and Shipping Apps for Clients and Ownership Options

Hello and Good Morning , I am new to Retool; I am discovering the app and I really like it even though I ran into a few problems recently [bugs].

I wanted to ask if retool allows to build apps for clients as an agency and ship them to clients? I have a regular plan and I consider upgrading but I need to know more about the self-hosted plan, is this the only way to ship apps? Can a client for exemple be transferred ownership of an app cloud-hosted and not pay anything but the usage of that app?
i am sorry if maybe my question is inaccurate but I lack of information about that. Do any of you also build app for clients ?
Thank you for your feedback.
Namaste

Hey @Ecommfox,

Can you share what you mean by 'shipping' apps to clients? All Retool apps must be run in the Retool environment. You can export an app and then import it into any other instance. If you create an app and want to allow your client to use the app in their own Retool org, that is one way to go. Otherwise, I believe a lot of customers will invite the client as users on their own instance and transfer the cost of that user over to the client. Let me know if you have any other questions, thanks!

Hello thank you for your reply. In fact I want to transfer the ownership of an app to the client . I understood that I can export apps to another instance so that wouldn't be an issue. On the other hand the client doesn't want to upgrade now; there will be less than 5 users for internal use. I want to create a release version which all users will use once they join the client's instance. I figured all users have to log on the Retool environment to be able to use the app is that correct?