API - Post - Error when posting data

Hi,

Appologies in advance for any 'dumb' things I say in this post - I am new to Retool, have have built several apps successfully querying our on-prem MS SQL instance.

I am trying to setup a link to one of our providers API, I can post data without any issues when doing this using curl directly from a CLI, example below:

curl -X POST https://121prodata.co.uk/api/ -d 'token=xxxx&data={"data":[{"number":"01234567891"},{"number":"07123456789",}]}'

but when trying to replicate the same type of function within Retool, I am always met with no API method specified.

I am really unsure what I am doing wrong here, so any support would be greatly appreciated. An exmaple of one of my attempts is below, but I have tried varying ways of using this information in the body, with and without quotes etc, but I am not having any success at all.

According to their docs that error means it didn't receive any parameters, might be worth passing your data as URL parameters not in the body. eg. I try it like this for the single number check and get told I need a token so it's seemed to have received a param

For your POST call you may want to try changing your body format to JSON and putting the data property in there with the token and also specify the input_format as 'JSON'

Hi Dave,

Than you for replying, I really apprecaite it.

However, you cannot pass it as a url paremeter else it believes it is a 'Single Number' check rather than a bulk check. I have to pass it as a POST, with the info in the body. Below is a link to their website as to how they demo the setup using PHP.

Let me know what you think I am doing wrong, and I'll give it a try.

Many thanks,

Michael.

If I POST it as form data it seems to attempt to validate the token, maybe this might work for you (I don't have a token to confirm). POSTing as JSON didn't seem to like it at all though.

2 Likes

Hi Dave,

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.