Access single row data but in a multiple selection table

Hi! I'm a new retool developer so trying to figuring out a lot of things.
This is the situation:

I have a table with an action button that opens a modal and shows the img urls for the specific item I select. The thing is my table also has multiple selection rows so when I try to click a button from a row it breaks because it can't find the data for that specific row.

This is the query I use to get the urls from the db:

This is the table:

This is the modal and the listview with the image:

I am going to assume that getImagesByPlay is the name for the select query you posted above? Not clear on why you would need the index i in the selectedRow.data[i].id query.

Using selectedRow.data.id should pick up the id in that selected row without using the index [i]

Is the listview component is set up correctly?

Hi @mateoMaturano! We actually have a bug where i is not accurately defined when using action buttons. I think that may be the issue you're running into here.

We are working on this bug and hope to have a solution soon. In the meantime, the workaround is to use a custom column (column type button).

In this example, I have several rows selected, but when I click the second button in the table, I'm able to return the data for the second row using table1.data[i]

1 Like

Hi @Tess, That's awesome! I'm gonna try it these days if it works.
Thanks for the alternative solution :smiley:

Hi @Tess I'm trying to do this but when I click on the view button I get no response

I created the custom column with button type but I don't get a response :confused:

Hi @mateoMaturano! Can we see your column settings too?

Sure

Hi @terrywong Thanks for reaching out! Can you share a screenshot of your setup?

The query was triggered when I clicked the button but nothing was returned.

Hmm, can we see jobs_table.data in the left panel expanded out to see the data structure (like the below example):