When is the best time to use transformers?

Hi @sophia,

I'm curious about when is the right time to use Transformers. I'm pretty new to retool, but where I'm finding transformers extremely useful is in transforming API results to an array that maps to a database table that I want to save those results to.

So for example I have a JS resource that calls an API for FreshDesk Tickets:

JS Resource to get Ticket data for a date range...(I won't put it all here):

const queryResponses = await Promise.all(dateRange.data.map(async (row) => { const result = await getTickets_FromJS.trigger({...

This returns an array of Ticket data in its 'raw' form from the endpoint. Some of the information I don't want (e.g. "data.description_text" is the entire body of the ticket/email).

I'm using a Transformer called tfTickets_for_DB to grab what I want from the response so I can bulk insert to the Retool DB. tfTickets_for_DB is basically:

SELECT  
ticket_data.id as ticket_id,
ticket_data.created_at as created_at,
FROM {{getTickets.data}}  as ticket_data
order by ticket_id

Each item in the Transformer maps to the data structure of the Retool Postgres DB. I have a very basic Bulk Insert based on:

{{tfTickets_for_DB.data}}

So, I can chain together via Event Handlers:

1. API call ->
  2. Transformer ->
  3. Bulk insert

Is this an appropriate use of Transformers? Or is there a better way to get from A->B (API call to saved results in the DB)?

Regards,
Nick

@nickaus,

That is a perfectly valid use of transformers. Only one suggestion I would make, is if you only use your API's transformed result, then you can put that transformer right into your API query, merging steps 1. and 2. Then you can use the query.data directly in your bulk insert.

If you use your API's results elsewhere in a different form than your bulk insert requires, then you are doing it exactly right.

Hi @bradlymathews,
Thank you for replying!