Support MongoDB Atlas Serverless

I'm new to retool and trying to connect to my MongoDB atlas database.

When using the connection string:
mongodb+srv://rutgerhofste:<password>@serverlessinstance2.8mwqy.mongodb.net/myFirstDatabase?retryWrites=true&w=majority

replace the password
replace the database with database name

I get the error:

Saving failed. Text record must only set authSource or replicaSet

I googled the error but cannot find the answer. I follow the tutorial

4 Likes

Hi @rutgerhofste :wave: thanks for reaching out with this! Based on the instance hostname within the connection string you provided, I think the answer is probably Yes; but just to confirm: is the MongoDB instance that you're connecting to a part of the new MongoDB Atlas Serverless platform?

yep, that's correct

I am getting this same error on the same platform. Though I am self hosting retool.

Got it, thanks for the confirmations/insights @rutgerhofste and @Dax911! I've been able to successfully reproduce this issue – I'm unable to successfully establish a connection to my MongoDB Atlas serverless instance from Retool (version 2.80.2) and observe the same error message. I've filed an internal bug ticket to have this behavior addressed – while we're not in a position to provide a fix timeline quite yet, I'll be sure to provide updates via this thread accordingly :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any other related questions or updates in the meantime too though!

@luke-phillippi

Could you please point when you are going to fix the issue? I want to use a Serverless MongoDB instance in my Retool App, but I can't.

Thanks.

Hey @programmer!