Strange Behavior with Key value pairs

Hello,

Retool noob here, but I'm learning fast and overall love the product. I am having problems with a specific app I built to allow updating of a data record in my Postgres DB. I have a form that is initially populated by a Data source table {{ getData.data }} query. I then have form text input fields that I pull into an updateRow query where I specify the key of the data table record in the Filter by section, and then I specify each table column/form input value mapping in the Key value pairs section.

I am seeing strange behavior, which I can recreate, where a text field update either contain a bracket and quote, or it is truncated. For example, if I specify textInput1.value, I will get a value posted in my database update that contains brackets and quotes. If I select textInput1.value.[0] to try and reference the textInput value without the brackets and quotes, I get a truncated update where only the first character appears. This behavior seems to come and go and changes as I add additional Key value pair mappings. Please help me understand what I am doing wrong or if this is some kind of bug. Thank you!

Are you able to provide some screenshots of the query and text input component state?

So when the form initially runs the getData query, it appears to treat all the return values as arrays:

Then, if I don’t edit the value, it treats it as an array and my update includes brackets and quotes:

However, if I do update the value in the form, it treats it as a string and the update saves as expected:

1 Like

When Retool returns SQL query values it does so with an object with an array per column with an element per row in the returned data. Even if your query only returns a single row it'll still generate arrays.