Simply triggering a query on a table in one container from another container

I have a container in my application that has small .png images that represent companies that my customer does business with.

When I click on these images retool changes a variable named "variable1" (weird that is fixed and can't be changed).

When "variable1" is now set to a customer ID, I want a query on the sample data table in another container to run.

I can go to the other container now and set focus on the table and the query will run with the proper results. But I want it to run when I click on the image in a separate container.

I write JavaScript for a living but thought that this was a basic function that I could handle with an event handler on variable change or something.

If I have to use JavaScript and local storage or something, I am happy to, but this seems a bit basic.

That being said, I still can't figure it out.

Thanks for any advice.

Welcome to the forum!

Are you certain that there isn't a event handler somewhere you may have tested but forgot to remove in any of the images?

Additionally, can you add some screenshots?

Thanks Scott,
Let me put together a more detailed (with screenshots) description of my issue. I will include the detail of all the event handlers i have set for each container and table, etc..

This will take an hour or two.

But in the meantime, is the pattern (i'll call it a pattern for now) "trigger-a-query-to-run-and-update-a-table-in-another- container" supported?

Thanks,
Bec

I'll get back with more details!

This first container is the customer logos container. When I click on any customer image a variable is being set. variable1 is set to 1 ,2 ,3 etc. to represent the customer ID which is in a table I want to query.

Next is the table in another container that I want to run the query on with just the where clause set to the customer ID or 1,2,3 etc.

So when I click on central oceans logo, variable1 is set to 1.