Newbie - .length help for Statistic component

Hello!

I am completely new to Retool and Java all together so I appreciate any help I can get. I have searched through the forums and see to have come across some possible fixes, but with my limited knowledge of Java I'm not sure how to make it work for my use-case.

I am attempting to use the statistic component to count the "Active" equipment of different types. I have been successful with creating a separate query for each statistic, but it seems incredibly inefficient. It is currently working when I create a query that looks like:

select * from "equip_mgmt_sys_v2" where ("status" ilike 'Active' and "equipment_type" ilike 'Vehicle');

and then a statistic component that finds its primary value through:
{{ equip_data_active_vehicle.data.unit.length }}

Again this is working but I feel like creating 30 different queries for 30 different types of equipment is not efficient. Any suggestions are welcome.

Thank you!

If you just need the counts, why not a SQL query like this?

select equipment_type, count(*) 
from equip_mgmt_sys_v2 
where status like 'Active' 
group by equipment_type;
2 Likes

How simple! I knew the 30 queries was silly. For the primary value in my statistic component, do I need to directly reference the row number or is there a way I can reference the "vehicle" part instead?

{{equip_data_active.data.count['13']}}

@troth16 the responses from SQL queries are a bit inconvenient to work with, so you have to transform them to make access easier.

Maybe something like {{_.groupBy(formatDataAsArray(equip_data_active.data))['Vehicle'][0].count}}. You'll have to try a few things to see what's best.

I have been trying to work the line of code you provided for a couple hours now, but to no avail. The only successful output I can get is if I reference it by row number. Any reference to the data provided in the row such as "Vehicle" returns a null or undefined.