Map showing customer locations

I am currently working on an app that will show the location of each customer, grouped by dealer, on a map. All I have is the zip codes of the customers. This is my first attempt at creating such a map and I have a couple of questions.

1. Is there a way to either place a marker on a map by zip code or convert the zip code to the necessary coordinates?
  2. The zip codes or coordinates are being collected through a SQL query. How do you enter the coordinates into the map so it can display all the points?
1 Like

I have figured out how to get the coordinates I needed. I just need help figuring out how to display a marker for each set of coordinates.

Hey @tomm!

If you're just looking to display a marker for each set of coordinates you should be able to do so by passing them as an array to the "Points" field, you can also specify a unicode character to use as your marker if you'd like:

That being said, if you'd like more customizability you can try passing your points as a GeoJson object instead which lets you use MapBox's layer styling to draw the markers instead. This lets you do things like programmatically define the color for each point!

Let me know what seems useful. It might be helpful if you can share the structure you currently have for your coordinates and how you'd like to display them as markers. We might be able to provide more specific syntax for what you'd need in that case!

1 Like

I did get the markers to work by using an array, however, having more control would be great. I'm just not that familiar with GeoJSON. I am currently pulling the data from a Google Spreadsheet using SQL. Is there a way to create the GeoJSON code programmatically from the SQL returned data?

Yea, definitely!

A basic structure that works is:

{
  type: "FeatureCollection,
  features: [
    {
      type: "Feature",
      geometry: {
         type: "Point",
         coordinates: [latitude, longitude]
      }
    },
    /* ... more points */