How to use setFilterStack to filter values in an array

Hi, I am new to Retool. I have a form which intends to filter the table according to the selection.

I tried to use the multiselect component to filter the sales regions so that users can select multiple regions at once, and it returns an array with values, e.g. ["UK", "USA", "EU"]
const searchSalesRegionsMulti = multiselect3.value;

The useFilterStack works well on filtering a single value, but I am struggling with how to filter values in an array. I tried to use isOneOf, but it looks like it is not working.

table1.setFilterStack({
  filters: [
      {
          { columnId: "SalesRegions", operator: "isOneOf", value: searchSalesRegionsMulti },
        ],
        operator: "and",
      }
]
});

Hi @Nikki_Ip! That looks right to me -- as a side note it looks like you don't need the extra layer of filters -- something like

table1.setFilterStack({
  filters: [{ columnId: "SalesRegions", operator: "isOneOf", value: searchSalesRegionsMulti }]
});

should work the same (you can also use the setFilter API to set an individual filter -- it's a bit more ergonomic!)

Where are you calling this API? Your issue might come from the fact that it's only able to set the filter at the time it's run, and it won't update automatically when multiselect3.value changes

Have you considered using default filters for this functionality? I think it would achieve what you're looking for here in a simpler way:

Thanks for the insight! I would definitely love to use the default filter if that suits my case.

However, I've tried isOneOf and includes, but none of it works... I wondered if that would have something to do with the original data, which is stored in Google Sheets as a string. For example: SalesRegions: "UK, EU, South Africa"
I split the data in the table, so it can be shown as tags. Should I transform the data to an array when it gets pulled instead? What would be the best practice in this case?

For the default filter