How to provide the output of one Restapi as the header of the triggered restApi

Hi i am new to this retool app and I am having a doubt regarding one restAPI calls another one.

In the submit button of my form, i added one of the eventHandler for the Submit is to trigger the RestApI listUser. Before running this RestQuery, i want to trigger another RestApi "generate_OTP", and the output of this restAPi (generate_OTP) will be a token(say Token A) and this Token A should be added as the header of the first RestQuery APi (listUser) and then only I need to execute the listUser API.

I tried to trigger generate_OTP first in eventHandler for the Submit button in my form, then I trigger listUser API, but it is not working as expected. Is there any option to do this. Everytime, the listuser API is triggered, it should generate a new token and then it should be added to the header

Thanks in Advance.

All of the events on a query are run at the same time. If you need them to be sequential, have the Submit event trigger the "generate_OTP" API, add then add a success event to "generate_OTP" to trigger the "listUser" API.

Thanks for addressing the query John @jg80 . But If I am having multiple apis (just like listuser , say createUSER, updateUser) and for all these apis i need the output of generate_OTP as the header, is there any way to address the requirement.

Depending on how fine-grained you need the control to be, I think you have three main approaches:

1. One API needs to run first, then all bunch of other APIs dependent on that initial API can all run at once: In this case, trigger the initial API from some event in the UI, and then add a trigger for each of the dependent APIs on the success of the initial API. The order you add them doesn't matter and they will all run right away, probably dependent on the result of the initial API.