Help with script to add empty row in tables

Hi

I’m new to retool an don’t have any experience with javascript.

I’m trying to create a request form that save data to db.

1. I have a table with 5 empty row by using data source [1,2,3,4,5]

2. Under the table i have
    Numberfield + button «add additional rows»
    User can type in number of extra row(s) user need, defult number is 1.

It can also be a solution to have one row and when user type something on that row a new empty row is added.

1. And then i have a submit button.
    That will save the information in to a db.

I need help with a script that will add more empty rows in the table that i can add as event on the button «add aditional row(s)»

Hope there are someone that can help a new beginner. Maybe have other idees to a from table with 7 editable columns.

1 Like

If you are starting with a table that is sourced from a database and want empty rows that the user can modify, you could create a script that sends an "create record" query to the DB X times with empty strings as the 7 editable columns which would result in X new records, each of which having (essentially) only a primary key (presumably). Then script can trigger the table refresh which would then include those additional records to be edited by the user.

Or, given that you seem to be starting with a blank table (I think that is what you mean by using a data source of [1,2,3,4,5] for the table), you could create a variable (variable1 below) and run a variation of the following script to add N new "rows":

let N = 3 //make this variable in your implementation
let newVarVal = variable1.value
for (let i = 0; i < N; i++) {
  const lastItem = newVarVal[newVarVal.length - 1];
  newVarVal.push(lastItem + 1);
}
variable1.setValue(newVarVal)

BUT - if you are saving your data to the variable, which is presumably the source of your table, you would need to define the rest of the table columns in the variable as well and account for them in your code.