Forms - is it possible to display existing AND submit new?

Hi. I'm absolutely sure this must be possible - hopefully someone could point me in the right direction.
I have a table and when you click on a row a container appears with fields that populate with
{{table.selectedrow.data}}. This works extremely well.
I also have a separate form that I use to Add New Data - this appears in a modal and also works extremely well.

I was wondering if it was possible to combine the two and have a single form that displayed the table data or presented a blank form when a "add new" button was clicked? I hope that makes sense. Thanks in advance.

I'll take a shot at this one. I was intrigued by this post bc I took the easy route in my app by using multiple modals. Take this with a grain of salt as I'm not a js expert by any means. :wink:

Try using a ternary operator within form1.initialData. For example,

screenshot-axcede.retool.com-2022.03.02-08_43_26

I also used a ternary operator to toggle the button text w/ create/edit.

form1_button

I think the conditional is ok here but you could also set a temp state var to true if a row is selected then use that as your conditional.

edit:
I'll add that

1. added a close event to the modal that deselected the row in the table.
  2. disabled select first/any row in the table on load.
2 Likes

ha!!!! that worked absolutely perfectly. That is such an elegant solution... absolutely love it. Thanks

Man, i wish had asked that question earlier - now i need to work back through and remove the unnecessary modals :grinning: The only thing I did slightly differently was to add a "add new" button that simply set the table selection to null thus allowing the ability to add a new record even after a selection had been made.
Thanks again

1 Like