Evaluating data in a table for lowest value(s)

Hello,

I've been learning retool these past few months. I'm not a developer /coder - so I've been using this forum to great effect and also with the help of chatGPT.

Aside from my work projects - I decided to try and create a small app for myself, which will evaluate the current energy prices - and then send a signal to my EV charger to charge the car when it is below a certain amount..... because I am on an hourly tariff with my energy supplier, that uses something called 'day ahead pricing'.

I'm a long way from there however; I have got as far as to find an API with the energy prices that I need. I have been able to get that data, and then use an XML parser within retool to provide me that data for the day ahead (today + 1) - and then bring all of this into a table (see screen capture).

So - before I can use my EV charger api to send a signal - I first need to run some analysis on the data. But I really don't know how to do this. ChatGPT is giving me some js code - but I'm not sure it is correct, as I am struggling to get it to work.

My question is - how would I be able to evaluate the data in the table (will always be a maximum of 24 rows - one for each hour of the day) and have it return the 4 lowest value of my calculated field (this is the code for the Cost per Kw/h field - it's a calculation that takes the API figure, and divides by 1000 (Mwh > Kw/h) and then display them in a field, individual fields etc?

This was the kind of code that I was trying but with no luck:

Once I figure this part out, I'm thinking I can use a workflow to check each day, and then push me a message (for now) but will evntually send an API to start the charger at a certain time or something.

const lowestRow = _.minBy(energy_prices.data, row => row['cost per kw/h']);
const lowestPrice = lowestRow['cost per kw/h'];
retool.components.lowest_price.setValue(lowestPrice);

Hope to hear,
thank you
Neil

Hey @maillme!