Data type "time" when empty cannot be inserted into supabase as null value

• Goal: Insert two sets of opening and closing hours for a business into supabase. The first set is mandatory, the second set is optional.

• Issue: The first set inserts correctly into supabase with the right business_id from a previous query. But the second set, when empty, does not return the correct null value that supabase expects for the type "time".

My question is: What do I do to my query - or elsewhere - such that the correct null value is passed to supabase?

Thank you! Really appreciate your help. I'm very new to this.

Hello!

You might be able to make use of an inline ternary operation to send a valid NULL value instead of the null string "". These take the form of {{ condition ? result if true : result if false }}. In your case, for each of the secondary values you can update with the following:

{{monday_secondary_open.value}} ->
{{monday_secondary_open.value == "" ? NULL : monday_secondary_open.value}}

and

{{monday_secondary_close.value}} ->
{{monday_secondary_close.value == "" ? NULL : monday_secondary_close.value}}

HI there @Andreasms,

Yeah this is a classic for Retool. The way I solve it is with this:

{{ monday_primary_open.value?.trim() != "" && monday_primary_open.value != "Invalid date" ? monday_primary_open.value : null }}

I found this solution in the forum, but can't find that post.

Hey @pyrrho and @MiguelOrtiz !
Thank you so much for your replies.

I obviously tried both and they both work! They both return correct NULL values and correct values when the secondary hours have hours in them.

The version by pyrrho looks like it wont work (see image) but that's only when there is no value inputted into the time field and it has to return NULL. Soon as I enter a time, it turns green. But it works as intended in both cases.