Custom Estimator App

Hey all,

First off I'm not a developer but I know enough to stumble my way through and a low-code tool like Retool seemed like a good place to start for building some internal processes for my construction company.

I am trying to create an estimation tool using Retool that would allow my to do pull "items" from a table that are then totaled for the estimate total.

This is a simple example of what I'm trying to make happen: Invoice generator | Make your invoice in seconds

It seems simple but it has proven challenging to find an app that works for us...mainly because they all want to charge for sending invoices but this tool would be used only internally.

The important thing is that the data for each item is pulled from a table but then can be edited (at least the price and quantity) of the item to help generate an accurate estimate. It doesn't look like there is a repeater field option in Retool so I wanted to see if the community had any input or examples that I might be able to look at and mimic.

Thanks in advance!

Hey @ironandtimberco,

I'm a door sub out of SoCal we have been building for about 4-6 months to move all our internal processes into retool. Estimating for us (unfortunately) is very detailed and its probably the hardest part about the whole system we are building. We have essentially a "Procore" already built out with jobsite photos and mobile users who can pull jobsite information and addresses and such. As well as a chat system, file storage, basic pricing pages and such as well as the ability to generate cut sheets. I would highly suggest starting with something like that so you can experience building before you try to dive into estimating. There's a little bit of coding knowledge you'll need to acquire along the way but the more you build in retool the faster you'll learn.