Hi Philippe! Thanks for reaching out. I'm Theodor, a Retool engineer who worked on this feature. You can preview or add changes on top of another developer's branch using the
Reset Branch feature.
For example, let's say
Dev1 works on the branch
feature/dev1-branch and commits and pushes the changes to the remote repo.
Dev2 can then use the
Reset branch feature to sync down the changes from
feature/dev1-branch to their own branch (say
Dev2 can also make changes to the branch, and then
Dev1 (or someone else!) can use
Reset branch to pull down the changes to preview them or make changes too.
Note that the
Reset branch feature simply creates a new page save using the latest version of the application or module in the remote branch, so if the user has other changes on the branch that is being reset, those changes will be overwritten (we don't yet support merge conflict resolution, but we hope to soon!). You can always restore the old page save using the
Releases and History modal though, so this operation is always safe.
You can find more information about this in our docs.
I hope this helps! Let me know if you have any other questions.