Adding upvote,downvote,comment feature on my table( custom column)

Hi,
(I am new to retool and JS)
I am creating a UI where I have to display name,text,upvote,downvote,comments,upvote(button),downvote(button) as the columns of the UI.

So here I want to add a functionality as when a user clicks on upvote on a row it should increase upvote count on that row and same for the downvote.

I know that this can be done by storing that value on a database and updating it when button clicked but here I am taking data from S3 which has only
username, text as column and remaining are custom column so how can I store all this in a DB and which DB can be used for this use case.

And also how can I implement comment feature.
(This is just sample data.)

Hey @G_JIGNYAS!

It sounds like you might need to get started by setting up a database that has columns for upvote, downvote and comments. We usually recommend a SQL database like PostgreSQL or MySQL, or if you're interested in a database that's in beta, but is easier to setup and manage, RetoolDB!

Once you have this setup, let me know and I can help you get your upvote/downvote buttons working :handshake:

Hi @victoria
So I tried doing what you have mentioned , I am using retool db here .

here I am facing a problem when Im clicking on upvote button then that particular rows is getting shifted to bottom of the table.

So I clicked on the id=3 row and it shifted to bottom of the table.

Also need a clarity on how to store data in retool db ,(here I manually inserted the data).
So the flow is Im getting data from S3 and display it on UI(username, text = original columns
other are custom columns).

Thanks

"So I clicked on the id=3 row and it shifted to bottom of the table."

It sounds like you'd like to make sure the table stays sorted by id, so we can do something like this in your table component (Set the sorting to sort by the id in the Asc direction):