How to insert an array of objectId using MongoDB in Retool

Hi, I am new to Retool and I have been using MongoDB as my DB.

I want to know how can I add new ObjectIds using "insertMany" action type. Let me give you a complete background of what I wish to achieve.

I am trying to create an application for Promos & Discounts. The purpose of this application is to add / update / delete a promo. Promos itself is a separate collection that contains all the information related to promos. I am attaching an image for better understanding.

As you can see, it has multiple fields. What I am more interested in is the Courses field. So the courses field is an array of ObjectIds. Each ObjectId refers to an _id in my courses collection (attaching an image).

Screenshot 2022-05-17 at 2.05.41 PM

Now, I want to create a new promo or update the existing one. Everything is working fine but when I try using the multi-select to choose multiple courses, it is being registered as a string in my database.

I have also tried using the MongoDB extended JSON syntax but it doesn't work. If I try to put in a single ObjectId it works but for an array it doesn't work.

This is for the single ObjectId:

I would really appreciate your response. I am new to this so I am struggling with the code.

Hi @asimmehdi thanks for sharing your question here -- in case you haven't already, our docs on connecting MongoDB to Retool are here MongoDB Integration. Let me know if they help, or if I can still find out some more info for you!

Hi @alina.retool thank you for responding. I have already done everything that is in the MongoDB integration docs and all of this doesn't seems to work. I am still struggling with the string to ObjectId problem.