Change columnEditable from false to true

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Retool, and I'm hoping that someone can help me with an issue. I am dynamically adding a new column to a table in MS SQL. After the new column is added, the table component is refreshed and reflects the new column. The problem that I'm having is that the column defaults to columnEditable = false, and I need columnEditable to = true.

In the screenshot, you will see that the success event handlers are creating a notification, refreshing the table component then running the script to update columnEditable to false for the newly added column. Then it clears the text value from the column.

I'm not receiving an error, but the column remains un-editable.

Thank you in advance for the help!

Hey @jkling!

Happy to help with this.

In general, Retool doesn't support the pattern of component.value = false. Instead, Retool uses methods, like component.setValue(false). There are a limited number of these setter methods (some components have .setHidden(true), for example, but some don't) so imo, the best way to figure out which setters are accessible by a specific component is to just type the component name followed by a . (e.g. textInput1.) to bring up the autocomplete menu and look for all the options in the Function category.

In your specific example, would dynamic column settings help? There's a restrictedEditingMapper setting.

https://docs.retool.com/docs/data-in-tables#dynamic-column-settings

As I think about it, if you need to do this for all new columns, you may need to run a separate JS transformer on success of your add column query and have it return a new object that contains the name of your new column and the applicable properties. Then, in your table's dynamic column settings field, you can reference {{transformer1.value}} to make sure the new column is included every time!

Anyway, let me know if you're able to make some progress here and let me know if you have any questions :slight_smile: